Black College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Unveiled

***Courtesy of the Black College Football Hall of Fame. The Celebration Bowl will host the Class of 2018 at our Champions Circle on Thursday, December 14 as well the game on Saturday, December 16.***

October 25, 2017 (Atlanta, GA) – The Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF) announced its Class of 2018 today. Seven inductees were selected from a list of 25 Finalists who had been determined earlier by the BCFHOF Selection Committee.

The Class of 2018 includes Harold Carmichael (Southern), Raymond Chester (Morgan State), Thomas “Hollywood” Henderson(Langston University), Leo “Lincoln Locomotive” Lewis (Lincoln), Greg Lloyd (Fort Valley State), Everson Walls (Grambling State) as player inductees and Coach Bill Hayes (Winston-Salem State and North Carolina A&T).

“This class represents three Super Bowl rings, 18 Pro Bowl selections and several Black College Football championships,” said BCFHOF Co-Founder and 2011 Inductee Doug Williams. “Take a look at what they’ve done off the field as well, and each has earned this incredible honor.”

Votes were tallied from the 12-member Selection Committee, comprised of prominent journalists, commentators and historians, as well as former NFL General Managers and executives, and from previous BCFHOF inductees to determine the 2018 Inductees.

The Class of 2018 will be honored at the Ninth Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons on February 10, 2018. The Induction Ceremony takes place at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia.

The Inductees will also be recognized on ESPN at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 16th. For more information please visit




Wide Receiver … Southern University (1967-1970) … Began collegiate career as a walk-on … Member of the SWAC Hall of Fame … Selected by the Philadelphia Eagles in 7th round of the 1971 NFL Draft … Eagles (1971-1983) … Dallas Cowboys (1984) … 14 seasons … Four-time Pro Bowl Selection … NFL receptions leader (1973) … NFL 1970s All-Decade Team … Retired as the Eagles’ all-time leader in receptions, receiving yards, receiving touchdowns and total touchdowns (79) … Born on September 22, 1949 in Jacksonville, Florida.



Tight End … Morgan State University (1966-1969) … Member of Morgan State’s 1968 undefeated team, scoring the Bears’ only touchdown in their historic victory over Grambling at Yankee Stadium … Member of 1970 College All-Star team … Selected by the Oakland Raiders with the 24th overall pick in the 1970 NFL Draft … Raiders (1970-1972; 1978-1981) … Baltimore Colts (1973-1977) … NFL Rookie of the Year (1970) … Four-time Pro Bowl Selection … Super Bowl Champion (1980) … Born on June 28, 1948 in Cambridge, Maryland.



Linebacker … Langston University (1971-1974) … Started collegiate career as a walk-on … Led Langston to 11-2 record and NAIA playoff berth in 1973 … Two-time NAIA All-American … Southwest District Defensive Player of the Year (1974) … Selected by the Dallas Cowboys with the 18th overall pick in the 1975 NFL Draft … Cowboys (1975-1979) … Also played for the San Francisco 49ers, Houston Oilers and Miami Dolphins … seven seasons … NFL Pro Bowl selection (1978) … Super Bowl Champion (1977) … Born on March 1, 1953 in Austin, Texas.



Running Back … Lincoln University (1951-1954) … Started every game and led the Blue Tigers to undefeated seasons in 1952 and 1953 … Still Lincoln’s all-time career leader in 4,457 rushing yards and 64 touchdowns … Selected by the Baltimore Colts in the 1955 NFL Draft, but elected to play in the Canadian Football League … Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1955-1966) … 12 seasons … Six-time All-Pro selection … Canadian Football Hall of Fame … College Football Hall of Fame … Born February 4, 1933 in Des Moines, Iowa … Died August 30, 2013.



Linebacker … Fort Valley State University (1984-1987) … Three-time All-SIAC selection … As a senior, was selected as the SIAC Player of the year … First Team SBN All-American … Selected by the Pittsburgh Steelers in the 6th Round of the 1988 NFL Draft) … Steelers (1988-1997) … Carolina Panthers (1998) … 11 seasons … Five Pro Bowl selections … Three-time All-Pro (1993-1995) … Two-time Steelers Team MVP … Member of the Steelers All-Time Team … Born May 26, 1965 in Miami, Florida.



Defensive Back … Grambling State University (1977-1980) … Named to Kodak 1-AA All-American Team and Black College All-American Team … Led nation with 11 interceptions as a senior … Signed by the Dallas Cowboys as an undrafted free agent in 1981 … Cowboys (1981-1989) … New York Giants (1990-1992) … Cleveland Browns (1992-1993) … 14 seasons … Four Pro Bowl selections … First Team All-Pro (1983) … Led the NFL in interceptions three seasons … Super Bowl Champion (1990) … SWAC Hall of Fame inductee … Born December 28, 1959 in Dallas, Texas.



Winston-Salem State University (1976-1987), North Carolina A&T University (1988-2002) … Won four CIAA titles at Winston-Salem State … Ranked as the #1 team in Division II after consecutive undefeated regular seasons … As head coach of the Aggies, Hayes won three Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) titles and made two Division I-AA playoff appearances … 1988 National Coach of the Year … Retired with a record of 195-104-2 … All-time winningest football coach at both schools … Born June 1, 1943 in Durham, North Carolina.


About the Black College Football Hall of Fame

The Black College Football Hall of Fame was established in October 2009 to honor the greatest football players and coaches from Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). Its trustees are football legends Mel Blount, James Harris, Willie Lanier, Art Shell and Doug Williams. The Black College Football Hall of Fame is sponsored by the Shack Harris & Doug Williams Foundation, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, tax-exempt organization.

« Back to News